Preamble.

A self-confessed “web voyeur” I use 2.0 technologies every day to gather information and keep up with the goings-on of others yet I have hesitated to put myself out there online, particularly in a professional capacity.

Out of office hours I remain fairly analogue in my social interactions. I call rather than text. I facebook, but only people who I’d see or speak to regularly anyway. I need feedback. I like to ask questions. I feel like things get done more efficiently in person. I’m uneasy over the potential for a one-sided interaction and the thought of being “read” by complete strangers.

It’s easy to question the value of my voice among so many great Library and Information blogs. It’s obvious that I will learn so much from others with more experience in LIS or 2.0 (and already have) but I’m not sure yet what I might be able to offer in return.

Perhaps worst of all, it’s been said that my sense of humour is a little offbeat (my jokes seem to make people furrow their brow and ask “what?” rather than laugh). If people don’t “get me” in person then what chance do I have in the virtual world!

When I first investigated the process of CILIP certification and began to appreciate the level of reflective practice required I decided a blog was the ideal forum for documenting my professional development. That was almost two years ago and notes still pile up in a folder after each training course, my ideas shared only within my team or with those I meet during training, events or the course of my work.

So thank you cpd23 for the push I needed to forget the excuses, hit enter and join the blogosphere. There’s no turning back now…

